Influence

You’ve converted me.
I don’t know how
you’ve done it,
but you have.
I’m a domestic;
a homebody.
A future stay-at-home mom.

I can’t believe
I used to dream
of travelling
to Kenya,
to China,
to Australia,
of climbing mountains
and rowing rapids,
of finding fame
and evading danger.

Now I dream
of grocery shopping,
of organizing,
of decorating,
of peace and quiet,
of healthy living,
of safety and solitude,
of marital bliss,
of baking,
of growing vegetables and herbs,
of performing rituals,
of petting and playing with my dream cat,
of having guests for dinner and a movie,
of exercising and meditating at home,
of singing as loud as I want,
whenever I want,
of cleaning house whenever I want,
of being naked whenever I want,
of making love with you whenever I want,
of showering with you,
of going to bed together
after a movie and snuggle is done,
instead of saying goodbye
and not knowing when I’ll see you again.

I dream of our future home,
made just the way we like it.
I dream of our children,
and how they will look like
and who they will be.
I dream of naming them,
and feeding them,
and kissing and holding them,
and washing them,
and teaching them,
and singing with them,
and playing,
and exploring,
and learning with them.
I dream that they will be
smarter and wiser than us,
that they will be leaders,
and catalysts,
and influence the change
that I dream of
in this world.

That’s how I will make a difference.
Not by fame or adventure,
but by loving and humble influence.
I’ve found my purpose,
and it’s all thanks to you.

Elaine Bento  May 15, 2017

Leave a Reply

